South Hills Mom

a mom's guide to kid-friendly resources in the South Hills

What’s next?

on September 9, 2013

I really enjoyed featuring a playground every day of August.  I enjoyed getting to know the South Hills even better – the adventures of the past month took me to parts of my community I never knew about before!

Setting aside time to work on my blog every day gave me the chance to learn a lot about blogging.  I’ve learned how to make my blog more user-friendly, I’ve created a Facebook page, and I’ve networked with other bloggers.  I still have a lot to learn, but I know I’ll pick it up as I go along.  I won’t be posting every day anymore, but you can expect a post every two or three days.

Now that my August playground series is over, I’m excited to expand my blog to include new topics.  We will still feature new playgrounds as we visit them, but stay tuned to read posts about more resources in the South Hills, including:

  • local farms
  • library programs
  • birthday party resources
  • local walking trails
  • indoor play areas
  • seasonal activities in the area

I will also be including things to do with kids outside of the South Hills, including:

  • county parks (Allegheny and Washington)
  • Pittsburgh city parks
  • museums
  • miscellaneous kid adventures in the city and beyond

In addition to local resources, I am also excited to write about other parenting topics like kid-friendly recipes and early education.  Before becoming a mother I was a first grade teacher, and the back-to-school time of year always gets my inner teacher going!  I’ll be sharing fun ways to introduce and practice literacy and math skills to toddlers and preschoolers.

These are just a few ideas I have to take with me from this point on, but since my goal is to be a resource for YOU, your suggestions and ideas are most welcome, too!  What would you like to read more about?  I’ve received great support from fellow moms in the area, and have gotten great ideas from them (like finding the best spots to go sledding, or fly a kite, or take family photos), so I know there are tons of ideas out there for the future of my blog.

Please comment below if you have a suggestion for a future post, have feedback about how to improve my blog, or have a resource you’d like to share.  I’m certainly not the expert on the South Hills – I’m discovering most of the things I write about as I go along.

Thanks for reading so far…and please keep coming back!

Leave a Reply

