South Hills Mom

a mom's guide to kid-friendly resources in the South Hills

Canonsburg Town Park, Canonsburg

on August 25, 2013

Another favorite part of town of mine is Canonsburg.  It reminds me of another time, yet is also so updated and modern.  (It has one of the few drive-thru Starbucks in the area, which is important to note!)  My favorite spot in Canonsburg would have to be the Sarris Ice Cream Parlour and Store, which is right down the road from today’s playground, Canonsburg Town Park.  With better planning (and maybe an extra set of hands), I would love to make this playground and ice cream at Sarris a whole afternoon trip!

Canonsburg Town Park, off of Crosby Drive, Canonsburg

Canonsburg Town Park

You enter this park on a one way street and pass by a skate park before arriving at the parking lot for the playground.  Beyond the playground is the Canonsburg Town Pool, an outdoor stage area, and walking trails throughout the park.  The playground was nice, and featured signs all over that read “Young lungs at play!  This is a tobacco-free zone.”  I would like to carry one of those signs everywhere I go!  But I digress…

This playground features:

  • a huge playground structure with rock walls, ladders, low platforms, poles to climb across, monkey bars, and three slides (one very tall twisting, one pretty tall straight, one short double)
  • a swing set with four regular swings and two infant swings
  • picnic pavilion
  • full restroom facilities

My thoughts on this playground:

  • Swings?  Check!  5 out of 5 stars from my seven month old.
  • My toddler also really enjoyed the swings.  They are slightly uphill from the rest of the playground, so the little ones had a great view while they were swinging.  The playground structure is much too high for my 20 month old to navigate alone, no matter what she thinks.  I was able to interest her in the low, toddler-friendly slide a couple of times before she decided she was ready for bigger and better things.  Unfortunately, I just didn’t feel comfortable with her going any higher on this playground.  It is meant for older children.  2 out of 5 stars from a toddler.
  • I think this playground has a TON to offer bigger kids, especially if they enjoy climbing.  There were so many different structures to climb and play on.  I would have been very happy with this playground as a kid!  But for our needs, it made me uncomfortable.  Even though there are lower parts for littler kids, there’s nothing to stop them from taking a few steps into an area that could be dangerous for them.  I appreciate the swings, but recognize that this is a playground that just isn’t meant for our family.  I give it 3 out of 5 stars…beautiful, unique features, but for older kids only.  (Big kids – enjoy!)
Leave a Reply

