South Hills Mom

a mom's guide to kid-friendly resources in the South Hills

Church Place Park, Mt. Lebanon

on August 24, 2013

I consider Mt. Lebanon to be one of the most charming places to live in the area.  I’m a little partial, as this is where my husband and I had our first apartment, but when I think of Mt. Lebanon I always think of how quaint and charming it is.  Church Place Park is no exception!

Church Place Park, intersection of Church Place and Lavina Avenue, Mt. Lebanon

Church Place Park, Mt. Lebanon

This should be the model for all neighborhood playgrounds, in my opinion.  It is so lovingly maintained (I like to think by the people in the neighborhood, but it could just as well be Mt. Lebanon parks and rec) and nicely landscaped.  It even has a neighborhood garden that was bursting with produce at this part of the season.  The playground was fun, but not huge.  I was able to sit on a bench and just enjoy watching my daughter play.

This playground features:

  • a play structure, accessible by low platforms or a rock wall
  • two “twin” curving slides
  • hanging rings
  • partially covered picnic tables

My thoughts on this playground:

  • There’s nothing in particular for my seven month old to do, but he enjoyed that I was able to sit and play with him on the bench in the shade while his sister played.  3 out of 5 stars for him.
  • This structure was the perfect size for my toddler.  She could easily climb up and the slides were big enough to be exciting, but not so big that they were intimidating.  She climbed up and slid down over and over.  3 out of 5 stars for her, because even though she really enjoyed playing, once she tired of sliding there wasn’t anything else to do.
  • Even though this playground really wasn’t elaborate or anything out of the ordinary, we really enjoyed it.  I could really feel the neighborhood presence in the playground, which is what made it so charming.  We will visit this playground again, maybe bringing a picnic lunch to enjoy!  Overall I give it 3 out of 5 stars, because when compared to other playgrounds it doesn’t have much to offer, and it is a little too small for many children to use at once.  It’s perfect for our little family, though!
Leave a Reply

