South Hills Mom

a mom's guide to kid-friendly resources in the South Hills

Trax Farms, Finleyville

on August 18, 2013

I LOVE Trax Farms.  Every time the seasons start to change I start itching to go to Trax.  In the winter they have Christmas trees and handmade wreaths, in the spring they have the Easter Bunny and all your gardening needs, and in the summer they have their freshly harvested fruits and veggies for sale.  But I think I love fall at Trax best of all.  The piles of pumpkins, the bales of hay, the candied apples, the autumn decorations, the attractions of their Fall Festival…our family goes every weekend!

But somehow I’ve always overlooked the playground nestled in among the greenhouses.  Just like everything at Trax, their playground is the perfect spot to spend time with family.

Trax Farms, 528 Trax Road, Finleyville

Trax

The playground is enclosed in a fenced area near the greenhouses to the side of the store and market.  It’s a charming spot dotted with benches and picnic tables for adults and kids alike.

This playground features:

  • a playground structure accessible by a step ladder, rope ladder, and rock wall.
  • three slides; two bumpy and one twisting tunnel
  • a tire swing

There is plenty of parking and the store has full restroom facilities.

My thoughts on this playground:

  • My seven month old was disappointed in the lack of swings.  0 out of 5 stars for babies.
  • My toddler was more interested in the stones than the actual playground equipment.  She did climb the ladder and slide down the slide at my urging, but it was clear that it was more to please her parents than what she really wanted to do.  Toddlers certainly could play on this playground with supervision, but it’s meant for older children.  3 out of 5 stars for toddlers.
  • I liked the rock wall, as it was more challenging than the ones you typically see at playgrounds.  I also liked that when my daughter was on the structure she was well-contained and unlikely to suddenly fall off.  I loved the little kid picnic benches that were around the playground.  In a few years I could see our family enjoying a lunch from Trax and playing at the playground.  I would give this playground 4 out of 5 stars.
One response to “Trax Farms, Finleyville

  1. Missy says:

    I love Trax!! Never noticed the playground either.

Leave a Reply

