South Hills Mom

a mom's guide to kid-friendly resources in the South Hills

Iroquois Park, Mt. Lebanon

on August 13, 2013

Even though yesterday I was gushing about the open space and fresh air of Peters Township, I have to say that I love the huge, century-old, stone houses on brick roads in Mt. Lebanon just as much.  I guess that’s the beauty of living in the South Hills; you get to experience the best of both worlds!

Today’s playground is Iroquois Park, a neighborhood playground just behind the Galleria.  There is no designated parking, but there is a wide turn-around that cars can park in.  You can also park on the street, but just remember to be considerate of the neighbors’ driveways.

Iroquois Park, Iroquois Drive, Mt. Lebanon

Iroquois Park, Mt. Lebanon

This is a sweet little playground nestled in a beautiful neighborhood.  It’s not over-the-top fancy, but had enough interesting features to keep us busy for an afternoon visit.

This playground features:

  • a toddler climbing feature, with a rock wall and a short double slide
  • two large jungle gyms
  • a swing set with one infant swing, two regular swings, and one swing for children with disabilities
  • a basketball court
  • picnic table (uncovered)

My thoughts on this playground:

  • My 7 month old had fun swinging – 5 out of 5 stars for him.
  • My toddler enjoyed swinging in the swing for children with disabilities, which is a plastic seated swing with a  buckle harness.  I think she enjoyed the range of motion in that swing more than the infant swing!  She also enjoyed climbing up the rock wall, but the afternoon sun was beating down on us and the slide was too hot for her to slide down.  No worries, she just walked down the steps to climb up again!  She checked out the jungle gyms, and probably would have scaled them if I let her.  She had fun at this park, and would probably give it 4 out of 5 stars.
  • I liked the features of this park, too.  I think preschool aged kids might be a little left out in its design, though.  The playground structure is technically for 2-5 year olds, but I think 4-5 year olds would be too bored with it.  But I think the jungle gyms are a little too advanced for that age group, too.  There is afternoon shade on the perimeter of the playground, but the sun was beating down on us when we were playing.  I think the morning would be more shaded.  I would give this park 3 out of 5 stars.  We would visit this park again, but there are certainly others that we prefer!
Leave a Reply

