South Hills Mom

a mom's guide to kid-friendly resources in the South Hills

Colewood Park, Baldwin

on August 8, 2013

Wooden playground make me sooooooo nostalgic!  I grew up in Virginia Beach and we had a huge wooden playground, Kids Cove, that was always good for hours of fun.  Every time I visited I found something new.  There were so many nooks and crannies and secret passages that I felt like I was exploring a castle.  I was so excited to find out that Baldwin has a similar playground about 10 minutes from my house in Bethel Park!

Colewood Park, Colewood Drive, Baldwin

Colewood, entrance

This playground had many of the features I remember and love from my childhood stomping grounds.  And just like her mom, my daughter couldn’t get enough of this playground!  Her eyes got so wide when she looked around – it was like she couldn’t decide what she wanted to do first.

This playground features:

  • a huge, elaborate, wooden climbing structure
  • multiple access points, including wooden stairs and plastic rope ladders
  • four slides; two tunnel slides, one wide straight slide, one short straight toddler slide
  • a bouncing platform
  • a tunnel
  • a bridge
  • two swing sets; one with two regular swings and a tire swing, one with an infant swing and a plastic seat swing
  • balance beams
  • monkey bars
  • musical chimes
  • picnic pavilion

I’m certain I’m missing things.  This playground had one discovery after another after another.

My thoughts on this playground:

  • It had an infant swing.  5 out of 5 stars from my seven month old.
  • My toddler ran around checking everything out.  She spent most of her time running across the bridge and playing the chimes.  She didn’t like the plastic seat swing, but she also didn’t want to sit still long enough to let me swing her!  Surprisingly, I think she was actually a little intimidated by this playground.  She didn’t go too far away from me, and wanted me up on the play structure with her.  Maybe because she couldn’t easily see me through the railings when she looked for me?  With Mommy close behind her, though, she had no fear :).  I think she would probably give this 4 out of 5 stars, because it was a little much for a toddler and she didn’t really like that plastic swing.
  • I think this is one of my favorite playgrounds that we’ve been to so far.  I like that the whole playground is enclosed in a fence, with only one opening to the parking lot.  (Oh yeah, there’s a ton of parking, too!)  I felt very comfortable with my daughter going up on the climbing structure without me because she was safe and unable to fall off the sides.  I was also easily able to get up there with her – and I was wearing my seven month old in a carrier, so I had an added obstacle.  I think this playground is awesome, and is one we will grow into.  To give credit, they do have a smaller play area designed for toddlers, but of course “Miss Thinks-she’s-a-big-girl” wasn’t interested in that.  I would give this playground 5 out of 5 stars, because it has something for everyone, was very safe and well-maintained, and is so unique.  And it was EMPTY on a cool summer afternoon, which is nice for my picture-taking and for my toddler to explore, but also kind of sad that such an amazing play space is being so underused by the kids in our area.  I’m telling everyone I know about this playground, and we will be returning again soon!
5 responses to “Colewood Park, Baldwin

  1. Stefanie says:

    Does the castle park in Baldwin have bathrooms and running water. Also does it have a picnic area. Just a note that I would love it if you were able to include that information on your blog posts about the various parks.

    • Thank you, Stefanie! That’s great feedback and I would love to know what other moms want to know about the playgrounds, too. Colewood Park has a picnic area but I didn’t see any bathrooms or running water. The playground is part of a much larger park with athletic fields, so it’s possible there may be a port-a-potty, but none that I noticed.

      • Stefanie says:

        Thank you for getting back to me!!! I am always taking my daughter to various parks!! However while I am there I am always looking to see if there is running water and bathrooms. I look for those two things for two reasons. The first is that without fail my 4 year old always has to go to the bathroom while at the park. The second reason is that I am a co-director of a pe-school in the south hills. And we take our students to a park once a week in the summer. We are always looking for new parks but they muse have running water and restrooms. I will keep reading and look forward to freading about the hidden gems that you uncover!!!

      • Since we aren’t quite at the potty-training stage yet I tend to forget about those important details 🙂 I added restroom and picnic details to the “playground features” of my previous posts and will remember to include that info in the future, too! Have you been to Mt. Lebanon Main Park? That is a really awesome park that would meet all your needs!

      • Stefanie says:

        No I actually have not been there in years. But that is a wonderful idea!!! Thank you so much!!! I look forward to rereading your past posts and all of your future posts!!

Leave a Reply

